Lemon Rosemary Zucchini Muffins

You expect to find bills and annoying flyers crowding your mailbox, but what a delightful surprise to find, instead, a bag with two muffins in it! Now there’s a way to put a smile on someone’s face for the day.

A dear friend of mine had texted me the day before that she had muffins for me, but when I didn’t hear any more from her, I forgot. I think the muffins survived overnight in our mailbox, and they were still freakin’ delicious, as evidenced by the way I inhaled them one right after the other. Thankfully there were only two because I think I could have eaten half a dozen if not an entire dozen.

And thankfully she had included the type of muffins, for I called her immediately after inhaling them to beg for the recipe. She was, however, out of town for the Labor Day weekend. Since I couldn’t take my mind off these little babies, a bit of internet sleuthing led me to my desire.

The combo of lemon and rosemary and zucchini is not something I would have thought to put together. But let me tell ya, it works! The lemon does not overpower the recipe since only the zest is used. Two tablespoons of fresh rosemary (thank you, garden) leave a strong piney scent, so go lighter if you aren’t fond of the herb. As for the zucchini, you can hardly tell it’s in there, but it does offer moistness.

 

For some odd reason, these remind me of cornbread even though the batter isn’t grainy at all. Maybe it’s the yellow color? And I’ve never had cornbread that tastes so light, clean, and fresh like this muffin, but it still reminds me of cornbread.

Remember the abundance of zucchini from our garden earlier in the summer? I had cut up tons of it into 2 inch slices, blanched them for a minute, then vacuum packed them (love our Foodsaver Vacuum Food Sealer) and tossed them into the freezer. Although they do get a bit mushy, they still work to grate them up and use them in breads and soups–and even chocolate cake, but I have yet to post that recipe.  I may end up using all the frozen zucchini for making these muffins now that I’ve discovered how delightful these are.

The actual recipe is for a loaf of bread, but like the ease of muffins: just grab and go. Snack size. Guilt-free size–or is that just a myth in my mind?

Lemon Rosemary Zucchini Muffins

Printer-Friendly Version

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tbsp. fresh rosemary, minced
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt (omit is using salted butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted butter, unsalted
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 3 cups grated zucchini (from about 1 pound of zucchini)
  • 1 tbsp. lemon zest

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line muffin tins with baking cups or prepare two 4×9-inch loaf pans, either coating them with butter or spraying with baking spray.
  2. In large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and rosemary.
  3. Beat the eggs in a mixer until frothy, then beat in sugar.
  4. Beat in melted butter and olive oil.
  5. Stir in the grated zucchini and lemon zest.
  6. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, a third at a time, stirring after each incorporation.
  7. Divide the batter into the muffin tins, filling about 2/3 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. If making as loaves, bake for 45-50 minutes, testing after 40 minutes by gently pressing down on surface of loaf–it should bounce back. Or, insert a thin knife or bamboo skewer into center and if it comes out clean, loaf is ready.
  8. Remove from oven. Let cool for a few minutes then remove from pans to cool on a wire rack.

Makes 18 muffins or 2 loaves.

SOURCE: Simply Recipes

One thought on “Lemon Rosemary Zucchini Muffins

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Recipe Roundup | Scrumptious and Sumptuous

I love hearing your comments, so please share your thoughts!